time of the first Assembly in 1920. Canada, as a signatory of the Treaties of Peace, is an original Member of the League.

The League of Nations has two aims: (1) to preserve peace and to seek a settlement of international disputes; and (2) to organize in the most varied spheres co-operation of peoples, with a view to the material and moral welfare of humanity.

The Covenant, which constitutes the fundamental charter of the League of Nations was drafted in 1919 by a Commission of the Peace Conference and inserted at the head of the several Treaties of Peace. It came into force on Jan. 10, 1920.

The Organs of the League.—The organs of the League are:—

- (a) The Assembly;
- (b) The Council;
- (c) The Secretariat;
- (d) The International Labour Organization, (see Chapter XIX);
- (e) The Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Assembly.—The Assembly consists of representatives of the members of the League, and meets annually in ordinary session each September in Geneva. At the 18th Assembly in September, 1937, the Canadian Delegates were the Hon. Raoul Dandurand, the Hon. J. L. Ilsley and the Hon. Vincent Massey.*

The Council.—The Council, which orginally consisted of five permanent members and four non-permanent members, now consists of four permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, and the U.S.S.R.) together with eleven nonpermanent members elected for three years from among the States Members of the League. The non-permanent members of the Council are at present as follows: Ecuador, Poland, and Roumania, terms expiring in 1938; Bolivia, China, Latvia, New Zealand, and Sweden, terms expiring in 1939; Belgium, Iran, and Peru, terms expiring in 1940. Canada was a member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Council, which normally meets four times a year and more frequently if circumstances should require it to do so, may deal at its meetings with any matter within the sphere of action of the League or affecting the peace of the world.

The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat is the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol, who is assisted by three Deputy Secretaries General and by one Under-Secretary General.

Permanent Court of International Justice.—The Permanent Court of International Justice was established by the Protocol of Dec. 16, 1920, in accordance with Article 14 of the Covenant of the League of Nations. It is composed of a body of fifteen judges elected by the Assembly and Council of the League of Nations for a term of nine years, and sits at The Hague. The Court is competent to hear and determine any dispute of an international character which the parties thereto submit to it; it may also give an advisory opinion upon any dispute or question referred to it by the Council or the Assembly. Article 36 of the Statute of the

^{*} The Report of the Canadian Delegates to the Eighteenth Assembly of the League of Nations is obtainable from the King's Printer, Ottawa, price 10 cents.